November 24 | 2017
Posted By

THE INCREASING IMPORTANCE OF LONE WORKER SAFETY

Lone workers represent a significant portion of the workforce with approximately 25 – 49 million employed lone workers worldwide. It seems to be a surprisingly large number at first glance, but a closer look shows that if you examine the broad range of industries that are encompassed along with the various work situations that can arise, the numbers highlight the number of workers at risk and the significant potential cost…

Read More
0 Comments
November 8 | 2017
Posted By

Scheduled Maintenance

Please be advised that CHECKMATE Scheduled Maintenance will occur on Sunday, November 12, 2017. Check below for when this takes place in your time zone. 8:00 am to 11:00 am AST 7:00 am to 10:00 am EST 6:00 am to 9:00 am CST 5:00 am to 8:00 am MST 4:00 am to 7:00 am PST CHECKMATE Service may be affected. During this period: ·         Checklist activation, deactivation and proactive check-ins will not be available while maintenance is underway. ·         Regularly scheduled Safety checks and end of shift calls will occur,…

Read More
0 Comments
October 12 | 2017
Posted By

SENIORS ARE AT HIGHER RISK OF FALLING

Injuries caused by a fall are a severe health concern that can lead to an acute injury or death. According to the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC), falls are the leading cause of hospitalization for children, young adults, and seniors. What you don’t know Falls are a leading cause of disability and death, and continue to grow each year. PHAC reported that between 20% and 30% of seniors fall each year. Seniors are more likely to and at higher risk of falling. Individuals with chronic conditions and disabilities fall…

Read More
0 Comments
October 2 | 2017
Posted By

Aging Workforce

The Canadian workforce is aging, and an aging workforce means aging employees in the workplace. According to the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety; one in four workers in Canada could be an aging worker. So, what does an aging workplace mean to organizations? Taking extra caution, as older employees might be prone to falls due to poor balance, slower reaction time and visual impairment. New safety measures in the workplace in case of medical emergencies, due to health problems, such as diabetes, hypertension or osteoporosis. Aging workers may…

Read More
0 Comments